Henry, McNabb, Somerville to Receive AOTOS

Henry, McNabb, Somerville to Receive AOTOS

The annual Admiral of the Ocean Sea Awards will be presented Oct. 28 to James L. Henry, chairman and president of the Transportation Institute; Gen. Duncan J. McNabb, commander of the U.S. Transportation Command; and Robert D. Somerville, chairman of ABS.

A special AOTOS recognition plaque will be presented to Capt. George Quick, former president of the Association of Maryland Pilots.

The awards will be presented by the United Seamen’s Service at its annual fund-raiser dinner. The USS is a non-profit organization that provides services to seafarers and armed forces and provides books to mariners through the American Merchant Marine Library Association.

Henry has been president of the Transportation Institute since 1987 and its chairman since 1990. At the institute, a Washington policy organization affiliated with the Seafarers International Union, Henry was active in defeating efforts to amend the Jones Act cabotage law in the mid-1990s. He is also chairman of the National Defense Transportation Association's Military Sealift Committee and of the United States Maritime Coalition.

In 2005, he was awarded the Vincent T. Hirsh Maritime Award for Outstanding Leadership from the Navy League of the United States. In 2007, he was the recipient of the NDTA’s National Transportation Award.

McNabb commands the organization that manages Defense Department global air, land and sea transportation. Before joining USTranscom, he was director of logistics for the Joint Chief of Staffs and vice chief of staff, and held a variety of command and staff positions at squadron, group, wing and major commands and Defense Department levels. As a command pilot, he logged more than 5,600 flying hours in transport and rotary wing aircraft. He graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy in 1974.

Somerville has served ABS, previously called the American Bureau of Shipping, in various capacities since 1970. Before joining ABS he served as a seagoing engineer and gained shipyard experience at Newport News Shipbuilding, then the world’s largest shipbuilder. ABS promotes safety primarily through development and design and operational maintenance of marine-related facilities.

He is a member of the Maine Maritime Academy Alumni Association Board of Directors, trustee of the Seamen's Church Institute, and Vice Chairman of the International Association of Classification Societies.