Customs lists AMS-compliant Miami airlines

Customs lists AMS-compliant Miami airlines

MIAMI -- The U.S. Customs and Border Protection Bureau released a list of 42 cargo airlines, couriers and consolidators who have completed the installation of automated manifest systems and are ready to meet the August 13 deadline for filing electronic import data.

On August 4 Customs officials said 37 air-cargo carriers serving Miami International Airport had not installed the mandated system but declined to name the companies that had not complied.

Federal laws passed after the attacks of Sept. 11, 2001 require scheduled cargo airlines and other approved voluntary AMS participants including container freight stations, automated broker interface (ABI) and broker filers, and express consignment courier facilities to purchase AMS software that links directly to the Customs' AMS system. The AMS is a multimodal cargo inventory control and release notification system. AMS interfaces directly with Customs Cargo Selectivity and In-Bond systems, allowing Customs to target suspect shipments and make faster identification and release of shipments while reducing the reliance on paper documents and speeding the processing of manifest and waybill data.

Air cargo arriving from a foreign country on the East Coast of the U.S. after August 13 must be preceded by an AMS transmission. The AMS document required by CBP must be filed by the carrier but can also be filed voluntarily by "the approved voluntary AMS participants including container freight stations, automated broker interface (ABI) and broker filers, and express consignment courier facilities," according to CBP rules.

As part of the public record, CBP distributed a list of the air carriers that are participating in AMS as of July 26.

They include Aerolinhas Brasileiras, Aeromexico, Air Canada, Air France, Air Jamaica, Alitalia, American Airlines, Amerijet, Arrow Air, Avianca, British Airways, Centurion Air Cargo, Cielos del Peru, China Airlines, COPA, Custom Air Transport, DHL Aero Expresso, Estafeta Carga Aerea, FedEx, Finnair, Florida West International Airways, Iberia, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, Ladeco, Lan Cargo (Lan Chile), Lan Dominicana, Lan Ecuador, Lan Peru, Lloyd Aereo Bolibiano, LTU International Airways, Lufthansa, Martinair, MAS Air, Mexicana Airlines, Northwest, Swiss International Airlines, Tampa Air, United, UPS, Varig, Vensecar International and Virgin Atlantic.

Also participating is DHL Airways Inc., Air Express International, BAX Global, Brinks Inc., Cargo Services Inc., Emery Worldwide and Panalpina.

Any cargo arriving after August 13 without the appropriate AMS transmission, "will be detained until CBP conducts a full and complete review of the manifest before any cargo can be unladen," according to CBP rules.

By August 22 cargo that arrives without the proper AMS documentation will be held for inspection and the AMS participant will be fined $5,000 for the first violation. Any subsequent violations will draw a $10,000 fine.

Air cargo that arrives on the East Coast without AMS documents properly filed after Sept. 6 will be barred from entry, and the aircraft will be required to return the cargo to its foreign origin. All parties in violation will be liable for fines.

According to Miami airport marketers, trade is primarily with the Caribbean and Latin American countries. The majority of MIA's international import cargo comprises perishable products including flowers, fruits, vegetables, seafood, plus some assembled clothing. Export cargo includes computers and peripherals, machinery, medical equipment, telecommunications equipment, agricultural machinery, apparel articles and aircraft parts.

The schedule for AMS implementation for air cargo:

August 13: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia

Oct. 13: 2004: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Wisconsin

Dec. 13: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Washington.