The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) is accepting entries in the 2009 Jones F. Devlin Award Program.

The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) is accepting entries in the 2009 Jones F. Devlin Award Program.

The Devlin Awards will be presented at the Annual Ship Safety Awards Luncheon at the Hilton Riverside in New Orleans, LA on June 3, 2010. Entries for the calendar year ending December 31, 2009 will be accepted through Wednesday, March 31, 2010.

Devlin Awards are awarded to any self-propelled merchant vessel including self-propelled barges that have operated for two full years or more without a crewmember losing a full turn at watch because of an occupational injury. A vessel is recognized for the number of qualifying years beyond the basic two year award; e.g., many vessels receive awards for operating five years and more.

CSA established the Jones F. Devlin Award in 1968. In the first year, twenty-seven vessels received awards; last year, over 940 vessels received awards. Almost 12,000 awards have been made since the program began.

The program is available to all companies, both members and non-members of CSA. All vessel owners and operators are encouraged to participate.

To qualify for a Devlin Award, a vessel must be in operation with a full crew. Days in protracted lay-up resulting in crew reduction are not considered days in operation. Please access our website at and click on "Other Award Programs" then click the link titled Devlin Award Nomination Instructions for information on nominating your vessels. If you are already a participant of the Jones F. Devlin Awards, you will receive a special email with instructions to update your Devlin Awards vessels. If you have any concerns or questions, please contact Ms. Odell J. Moore via e-mail or telephone information listed below.

All entries must be received by Wednesday, March 31, 2010.

For additional information, please e-mail: or mail to:
Safety Awards Committee
Chamber of Shipping of America
1730 M Street, NW, Suite 407
Washington, DC 0036
(P) 202.775.4399
(F) 202.659.3795