World Shipping Council Adds New Board Member

At its December 2011 meeting in London, the World Shipping Council (WSC) board confirmed the election of Mr. Ng Yat Chung, Group President and CEO of NOL, to the WSC board of directors for a term that expires in September 2013. The election of Mr. Ng fills all eleven seats on the WSC Board. Other board members are: Mr. Philip Chow, Orient Overseas Container Line (OOCL); Mr. Thomas Crowley, Jr., Crowley Maritime Corporation; Mr. Rafi Danieli, Zim Integrated Shipping Services; Mr. Morten Engelstof, Maersk Line; Dr. Ottmar Gast, Hamburg Sud; Mr. Y. M. Kim, Hanjin Shipping; Mr. Ulrich Kranich, Hapag-Lloyd AG; Mr. Kenji Mizushima, NYK Line; Mr. Wan Min, COSCO Container Lines; and, Mr. Ron Widdows, who will continue to serve as the WSC Board Chairman until September 2012.

The World Shipping Council is an association of liner shipping companies with offices in Brussels and Washington, D.C. Its members transport over 90 percent of international containerized trade. The WSC's goal is to provide a coordinated voice for the liner shipping industry in its work with policymakers and other industry groups interested in international transportation issues.

For more information about the World Shipping Council and the international liner shipping industry, visit

Please log in, register or subscribe to access the full article.