Jean-Claude Delen (Belgium) new FIATA President

Delegates at the General Meeting held on 25th September, 2009 in Geneva/Switzerland unanimously elected Mr. Jean-Claude Delen from Belgium as FIATA's new President for a term of office of two years.

Mr. Jean-Claude Delen is CEO of DHL BeNeLux & France and Managing Director of DHL Belgium and Luxembourg. Before becoming FIATA President, he already served FIATA as Vice President since 1999 and as Senior Vice President since 2005.

The newly elected FIATA Presidency is now composed - in addition to President Jean-Claude Delen - of Immediate Past President William M. Gottlieb (Canada), Treasurer Stanley Lim Hwee Hong (Singapore), Secretary General Heiner Rogge (Germany), and the three Senior Vice Presidents Dr. Francesco Parisi (Italy), Sarosh J. Nagarvala (India) and Suwit Ratanachinda (Thailand).

The International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations (FIATA) was founded in Vienna in 1926. Today it is the largest and leading non-governmental organization in the field of transportation, representing 40'000 forwarding and logistics companies employing up to 10 million people in 150 countries. FIATA has consultative status with several United Nations bodies and is recognized by many governmental and private organizations worldwide. The Federation's main objectives are to promote and protect the interests of the freight forwarding industry, to improve the quality of freight forwarding services, to assist with vocational training and to familiarize the business world in particular and the public in general with the wide range services rendered by the industry.

Please consider registering in order to access the full article.