Containerization & Intermodal Institute Grants Scholarship to 11 Students at 2012 Connie Event

Containerization & Intermodal Institute Grants Scholarship to 11 Students at 2012 Connie Event

Dec 13, 2012

NEWARK, N.J. — The Containerization & Intermodal Institute continued its industry education mission by presenting scholarships at the annual Connie luncheon here to college students and maritime academy cadets pursuing their degrees that will lead to careers in the international trade and transportation industry. The event honored Alberto Alemán Zubieta, past Administrator of the Panama Canal Authority, with the 2012 Connie Award.  

CII Board Member and Connie Event Chairperson Anne Kappel and CII Scholarship Committee Co-Chair Captain Jon Helmick, USMS, hosted the scholarship program that handed out 11 scholarships to selected students.  

Port of Charleston, in honor of Alberto Alemán Zubieta, awarded $1,000 to Midshipman Nicholas Mann, from United States Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, N.Y. James Newsome, who heads the South Carolina State Ports Authority, presented the scholarship to the midshipman from South Carolina, who is pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in Marine Engineering.

Susan Winfree, Director of Workforce Development and Safety at the NYSA, was on hand to present the $1,000 scholarship funded by New York Shipping Association to Alyson Nardi, a student in Seton Hall University's Supply Chain Management program.

Journal of Commerce Editor Chris Brooks presented the magazine's $1,000 scholarship to Sarah Kruse, a Rutgers University student currently pursuing a degree in Supply Chain Management.

Since 2008, BSY Associates, Inc. has awarded $1,000 annually to a deserving student in the Supply Chain Management program at Rutgers University. This year, Gordon Forsyth, Managing Partner of BSYA, presented the scholarship to Julie Oka.

Ceres Terminals Inc. honored Midshipman Aaron Madler, who is studying terminal operations at U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Michael DiVirgilio, Senior Vice President of Development for Ceres, awarded the $1,500 scholarship.  

Steven Blust, President of Institute of International Container Lessors (IICL) and Vice President of CII, presented a $2,500 IICL scholarship to Midshipman Natalie Jones, also from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Mr. Blust also serves as chair of the CII Educational committee.

The Richard A. Simpson scholarship was awarded to Midshipman Michael Ackerman from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Captain Helmick presented the $1,500 scholarship, which was named in memory of Mr. Simpson, former Chairman and President for 20 years and the founder of CII's scholarship program.

The Thomas B. Crowley Sr. Memorial Scholarships have been presented since 1992 by Crowley Maritime Corporation annually at the Connie Awards in the New York area. Jenny Terpenning, Marine Recruiter from Crowley, presented four deserving midshipmen from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Recipients this year were Midshipmen Joshua Beck, William Courtney, Michael Pluhowski and Kevan Stoeckler.

CII has presented nearly $600,000 in scholarships under it auspices since 1992.