Top 100 Importers in 2011

Rank
JoC Top 100 Importers
Headquarters TEUs in 2011
Web site
Sector
1
Wal-Mart Stores Bentonville, Ark. 710,000 www.walmartstores.com Retail
2
Target Minneapolis 472,400 www.target.com Retail
3
Home Depot Atlanta         296,800 www.homedepot.com Retail
4
Lowe's Mooresville, N.C. 228,000 www.lowes.com Retail
5
Dole Food Westlake Village, Calif. 223,000 www.dole.com  Diversified
6
Sears Holding Hoffman Estates, Ill. 207,700 www.searsholdings.com Retail
7
Heineken USA White Plains, N.Y. 129,000 www.heinekeninternational.com Beverages
8
Philips Electronics North America Andover, Mass. 127,200 www.usa.philips.com Electronics
9
LG Group Englewood Cliffs, N.J. 120,000 www.lg.co.kr Conglomerate
10
Chiquita Brands International Cincinnati 117,500 www.chiquita.com Food
11
IKEA International Conshohocken, Pa. 101,200 www.ikea-group.ikea.com Retail
12
Samsung America Ridgefield Park, N.J. 96,100 www.samsung.com Conglomerate
13
J.C. Penney Plano, Texas 89,900 www.jcpenney.net Retail
14
Jarden Rye, N.Y. 85,600 www.jarden.com Outdoor & Home Goods
15
Costco Wholesale Issaquah, Wash. 83,000 www.costco.com Retail
16
Nike Beaverton, Ore. 79,300 www.nikebiz.com Footwear & Apparel
17
Ashley Furniture Industries Arcadia, Wis. 77,300 www.ashleyfurniture.com Furniture
18
General Electric Fairfield, Conn. 76,700 www.ge.com Conglomerate
19
Red Bull North America Santa Monica, Calif. 74,000 www.redbull.com Beverages
20
Family Dollar Stores Matthews, N.C. 65,200 www.familydollar.com Retail
21
Whirlpool Benton Harbor, Mich. 65,100 www.whirlpoolcorp.com Appliances
22
Dollar Tree Stores Chesapeake, Va. 63,200 www.dollartree.com Retail
23
Williams-Sonoma San Francisco 55,900 www.williams-sonomainc.com Retail
24
Gap Stores San Francisco 54,600 www.gap.com Retail
25
Big Lots Columbus, Ohio 51,800 www.biglotscorporate.com Closeout Retail
26
Kohl's Menomonee, Wis. 48,600 www.kohls.com Retail
27
Dorel Industries Montreal 48,300 www.dorel.com Furniture/Bicycles
28
Michelin North America Greenville, S.C. 43,100 www.michelin-us.com Tires
29
Staples Framingham, Mass. 42,300 www.staples.com Retail
30
Dollar General Goodlettsville, Tenn.  40,500 www.dollargeneral.com Retail
31
Rooms to Go Seffner, Fla. 37,100 www.roomstogo.com Retail
32
Michaels Stores Irving, Texas 36,600 www.michaels.com Retail
33 tie
Sony Corp. of America New York 36,100 www.sony.com Electronics
33 tie
Toys "R" Us Wayne, N.J. 36,100 www.toysrus.com Toys-Retail
35
Mattel El Segundo, Calif. 35,300 www.mattel.com Toys
36
Bridgestone Americas Nashville, Tenn. 34,300 www.bridgestone-firestone.com Tires, Auto Products
37
Nestle USA/Nestle Waters Los Angeles/Greenwich, Conn. 33,400 www.nestleusa.com www.nestlewaters.com Food/Beverages/Pet Food
38
Canon USA Lake Success, N.Y. 32,900 www.canon.com Photo Imaging
39
Electrolux Charlotte, N.C.; Stockholm, Sweden 32,000 www.electrolux.com Appliances
40
Mercedes Benz/Daimler Trucks Montvale, N.J.; Portland, Ore. 31,600 www.daimler-trucksnorthamerica.com; www.mbusa.com Motor Vehicles
41
Best Buy Richfield, Minn. 31,400 www.bestbuy.com Retail
42
Toyota Tsusho America Florence, Ky.  31,100 www.taiamerica.com Conglomerate
43
Panasonic Corp. of North America Secaucus, N.J. 31,000 www.panasonic.com Electronics
44
Macy's Cincinnati  27,000 www.federated-fds.com Retail
45
Anheuser-Busch InBev St. Louis 26,800 www.anheuser-busch.com Beverages
46
Russell Hobbs Miramar, Fla. 26,800 www.russellhobbsinc.com Appliances
47
Hasbro Pawtucket, R.I. 26,600 www.hasbro.com Toys
48
Itochu International New York 26,500 www.itochu.com Conglomerate
49 tie 
Adidas Group  Portland, Ore. 26,000 www.adidas-group.com Sports/Lifestyle
49 tie 
Hankook Tire America Wayne, N.J. 26,000 www.hankooktireusa.com Tires
49 tie 
Ross Stores Pleasanton, Calif. 26,000 www.rossstores.com Retail 
52
Arauco Wood Products Atlanta, GA 25,800 www.arauco.cl Forest Products
53
Southern Wines & Spirits of America Miami, FL 24,800 www.southernwine.com Beverages
54
Conair East Windsor, N.J. 24,200 www.conair.com Appliances & Personal Care
55
Coaster of America Santa Fe Springs, Calif. 24,000 www.coastercompany.com Furniture
56 tie
Falken Tire Fontana, Calif. 23,000 www.falkentires.com Tires
56 tie
Pier 1 Imports Fort Worth 23,000 www.pier1.com Retail
57 tie
BMW of North America Woodcliff Lake, N.J. 22,700 www.bmwusa.com Auto & Transport
57 tie
VF Greensboro, N.C. 22,700 www.vfc.com Apparel
60
Furniture Brands International Clayton, Mo. 21,600 www.furniturebrands.com Furniture
61
Keystone Automotive Industries Exeter, Pa. 21,100 www.keystoneautomotive.com Wholesaler & Retailer-Auto Parts
62
Hanes Brands Winston-Salem, N.C. 20,900 www.hanesbrands.com Apparel
63 tie
Hewlett-Packard Palo Alto, Calif 20,500 www.hp.com Mfg.-Computer Technology
63 tie
Nissan North America Franklin, Tenn. 20,500 www.nissanusa.com Automobiles
65
TJX  Framingham, Mass. 20,000 www.tjx.com Retail
66
Phillips Van Heusen New York 19,600 www.pvh.com Apparel
67
JoAnn Stores Hudson, Ohio 19,000 www.jo-annstores.com Retail
68
Hon Hai Precision Industries Houston 18,100 www.foxconn.com Electronics
69
American Honda Motor, Honda North America Torrance, Calif. 18,000 www.honda.com Automotive Goods
70
Sol Group Marketing Pompano Beach, Fla. 17,900 solgroup-marketing.com Fruit
71 tie
Marubeni America New York 17,700 www.marubeni-usa.com Conglomerate
71 tie
Walgreen Deerfield, Ill. 17,700 www.walgreens.com Retail
73
Limited Brands Columbus, Ohio 17,400 www.limitedbrands.com Retail
74
Fonterra USA Rosemont, Ill. 17,300 www.fonterra.com Dairy Products
75
Yokohama Tire Fullerton, Calif. 16,700 www.yokohamatire.com Tires
76
Ricoh Americas West Caldwell, N.J. 16,600 www.ricoh-usa.com Imaging Technolgy
77
DSW Columbus, Ohio 16,300 www.dswinc.com. Retail
78
Haier America Trading New York 16,100 www.haieramerica.com Appliances
79
Cardinal Health Dublin, Ohio 16,000 www.cardinal.com Wholesale Medical Supplies
80
DuPont Wilmington, Del. 14,900 www.dupont.com Diversified
81
Euromarket Designs Northbrook, Ill. 14,400 www.crateandbarrel.com Retail
82
Fred Meyer Stores Portland, Ore. 14,400 www.fredmeyerstores.com Retail
83 tie
Giti Tire Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. 14,100 www.gititire.com Tires
83 tie
Toyo Tire & Rubber Cypress, Calif. 14,100 www.toyotires.com Tires
85
Goya Foods Secaucus, N.J. 13,800 www.goya.com Foods
86
Pirelli Rome, Ga. 13,700 www.us.pirelli.com Tires
87
Cost Plus Oakland, Calif. 13,400 www.worldmarket.com Retail
88
CVS/Caremark Woonsocket, R.I. 13,300 www.cvs.com Retail
89
Office Max Naperville, Ill. 13,000 www.officemax.com Retail
90
Kia Motors America West Point, Ga. 12,900 www.kia.com Automobiles
91
Ralph Lauren New York 12,700 www.ralphlauren.com Fashion Conglomerate
92
Sharp Electronics Mahwah, N.J. 12,600 www.sharp-usa.com Electronics & Appliances
93
Brother International Bridgewater, N.J. 12,500 www.brother-usa.com Imaging Technolgy
94
Skechers USA Manhattan Beach, Calif. 12,500 www.skx.com Retail
95
Bissell Homecare Grand Rapids, Mich. 12,400 www.bissell.com Consumer Products
96
Toshiba America New York, NY 12,300 www.toshiba.com Electronics
97
Cooper Tire & Rubber Findlay, Ohio 12,200 www.coopertire.com Tires
98
Natuzzi Americas High Point, N.C. 12,000 www.natuzzi.com Furniture
99
Nexen Tire America Diamond Bar, Calif. 11,700 www.nexentireusa.com Tires
100
Mando America Opelika, Ala. 11,600 www.mando.com Auto Parts

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, contact Marsha Salisbury, research editor, msalisbury@joc.com, T. 973.776.7828.

Please consider registering in order to access the full article.