P.O. Box 608 333 Ponoma Street Port Hueneme, CA 93044-0608 Tel: 805-488-3677 Fax: 805-488-2620





Press Release For Immediate Release

unincorporated beach communities.

Contact: Kristin Decas (805) 488-3677

Port of Hueneme sets stage for 2013 leadership

Kicks year off with State of the Port Presentation at the Port of Hueneme Chamber Breakfast

Port of Hueneme- The Port of Hueneme Board of Commissioners set the stage for 2013 leadership voting its governance body at their first meeting of the year held January 14, 2013. Commissioner Jason Hodge will take the helm as President, Commissioner Mary Anne Rooney was named Vice President and Commissioner Jess Herrera was voted Secretary. Commissioner Manuel Lopez received accolades for his service as Board President in 2012 and Commissioner Arlene Fraser received a warm welcome taking her seat at the table as a Port Commissioner for the first time.

Commission President Hodge set the tone for the year stating, "I compliment my co-commissioners for their service, leadership and vision. As we launch into 2013, I look forward to advancing a very strong agenda around economic growth, job creation, environmental stewardship and community engagement."

Commission President Hodge kicked off his leadership post delivering a speech on the State of the Port at the January 17, 2013 Port Hueneme Chamber breakfast. He reported first quarter growth for fiscal year 2013 at 15%, noting key findings from a newly released economic Assessment performed by a renowned maritime economist, John Martin.

The Assessment indicated Port activities generate more than \$1 billion in positive economic impact including \$723 in marine activity and \$330 million in local respending and consumption. These operations support almost 10,000 direct, indirect, induced and related jobs annually.

The Port of Hueneme is governed by a five member Board of Harbor Commissioners elected at large from throughout the Oxnard Harbor District comprised of the cities of Oxnard, Port Hueneme and nearby

BOARD OF HARBOR COMMISSIONERS

Jason T. Hodge President

Mary Anne Rooney Vice President

Jess Herrera Secretary

Dr. Manuel M. Lopez Commissioner

Arlene N. Fraser Commissioner

PORT MANAGEMENT

Kristin Decas CEO & Port Director

Celebrating 75 Years!